Monday, June 4, 2012

WebbWeaver review of P.I. Barrington's 'Future Imperfect' Trilogy

WebbWeaver’s first book series review comes from S. Price with her review of P.I. Barrington’s FUTURE IMPERFECT series. 

This series was published by Desert Breeze Publishing in 2009 and 2010 and is available for purchase at . You can learn more about this author and her work by visiting her website at

     FUTURE IMPERFECT Book 1: Crucifying Angel 
 Payce Halligan is a detective with Las Vegas PD who, after returning to work on the heels of a tragic accident involving her partner, has made target practice her favorite pastime. Her superior has brought in a handsome playboy Englishman as her new partner. Payce now has to teach Gavin McAllister about life in the desert of Las Vegas in the year 2032, a task she is not too happy about at the moment. Payce had much rather work alone since the tragic loss of her last partner.
Payce and Gavin weave their way through casino life, cult life, and eventually, the underground tunnels that lead to answers, but also raise more questions. The questions they must answer are not only about the cult-like group they have been tracking, but also about themselves as individuals, and together as partners.
 This book keeps you on the edge of your seat, reading faster and faster so you can't possibly see what's coming next. This is the first book in a series of three action-packed novels. I will definitely read the other two books in this series. I can’t possibly end with one! I recommend this book to anyone who loves a great action-packed, who-dun-it and those searching for an  an underlying love story in there somewhere. The futuristic aspect of this book also keeps you interested; clamoring to know what the author envisions for Las Vegas and homicide investigation many years from now.

FUTURE IMPERFECT Book 2: Miraculous Deception 
 In this second book of the series, we follow Payce and Gavin, two of Las Vegas PD’s detectives, into further investigations that seem to circle around the religious sect, The New Creation. This book can be easily read as a stand-alone, but it’s more fun reading the whole series. Payce was injured in an earlier investigation and begins this book in the hospital being treated for her injuries. Someone keeps trying to keep her in an unconscious state, it would seem, but the big questions are 'who' and 'why'? All the clues seem to lead Gavin to Payce’s last partner Nick and ultimately, right back to the New Creation.
 Follow the LVPD through this investigation and make sure you wear your seatbelt, it's going to be a bumpy ride! This one takes some crazy twists and turns that you NEVER see coming. (Think roller coaster in the dark) The thrills, chills and shocking twists keep you guessing right up to the very end. But... you will never see this end coming! I cannot wait to read the third and final installment in this series!

 FUTURE IMPERFECT Book3: Final Deceit 

In this final installment of the Future Imperfect Series, we find Payce and Gavin under the rubble of the New Creation’s demolished compound. They are faced with trying to find a way out with Nick and Amy Strand, the news reporter. They find that there is still life under the rubble of the building, in tunnels and caverns deep below the earth. El Jeffe is still there directing his masterful deception even after the fa├žade of the New Creation has been demolished.
 This third book in the series continues this tightly woven action thriller until its finale. The storyline and pace of the book changes so quickly, it will make your head spin and leave you turning the pages faster and faster so you can find out how it all ends for this group of law enforcement officers.
 The characters of the 'Future Imperfect Trilogy' come together nicely in this final book as new ones are introduced. The author has written an original story you won’t soon forget. 
I am giving the FUTURE IMPERFECT TRILOGY a 4-spider rating and recommending it to anyone looking for a great series filled with twists, turns and edge of your seat action and thrills.

S. Price


Marty Boggs and the Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb was written by M.T. Acquaire and published by Matthew andTanya Acquaire in 2011. It may be purchased at and you may read more about theauthor at

Marty is typical teenager except he is dealing with a magnitude of bad luck,and the fact that his grandfather found a tomb in Egypt, and released a curse,is the reason why. First, his mom disappears, and then his granddad becomesvery ill and his family is forced to move to help out and manage hisgrandfather’s museum. Marty must start a new school, make new friends and evenwhere a school uniform. These things plus the fact that the family must dealwith a curse that haunts them is a lot for the boy to handle Then, kids startgoing missing, while monsters and ghouls of all kinds begin to walk thestreets, and an evil necromancer strives to become immortal. Marty must figureout how to stop the curse and save them all.

This book was a surprisingly great read. I really think young readers will loveit for its action, but also adult readers will too. It’s full of mystery andadventure and held my attention all the way to the very end, which is hard todo unless it is an interesting story line that is well written. The story was areally fast and easy read with good characters and lots of monster action, whichkept me guessing and wondering just what was going to happen next.

I’m giving Marty Boggs and the Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb a 5 spider rating just because it was such a great adventure storythat kept me interested and wanting to read more from this author.

T Lane